Later News Apr 29

Giggs won't join Shearer and Henry in the EPL Hall of Fame, but you can pick the six who will

Six great football players who have been stars in the English Premier League will join Thierry Henry and Alan Shearer in the official Premier League Hall of Fame.


The super six will be picked from a shortlist of 23 players to make up the Premier League’s Eight Immortals. 

Shearer was inducted for being the league’s top scorer with 260 goals. He reached that tally over 441 matches in 14 seasons and with two clubs – Blackburn Rovers (112 goals/138 matches) from the 1992/93 to 1995/96 seasons, and Newcastle United (148 goals/303 matches) from then until the end of his career in the 2005/06 season. The English stiker also won three Golden Boot awards during his years in the Premier League.

Henry won the Golden Boot award a record four times and scored a record 175 Premier League goals in 258 appearances for Arsenal. The French striker managed to score more than 20 Premier League goals in five consecutive seasons – between 2001 and 2006.


WATCH: Thierry Henry's legendary Arsenal career


“All I ever wanted to be was a professional footballer. It was my dream to do that, my dream to win trophies and my dream to score at St James’ Park, to wear the No 9 black-and-white shirt and it was fantastic. I enjoyed every minute of it,” said Shearer, who moved from Blackburn Rovers to his boyhood club for a world record £15 million in July 1996. That would be the equivalent of just £24 million or S$44 million today.


The transfer fees have since skyrocketed, with Shearer’s price tag a pittance to be spent in the bargain basement today. But his record of 260 goals stands tall.


Shearer said: “When you look at some of the unbelievable players to have graced the Premier League – week in, week out, year in, year out – I feel very honoured to join the Hall of Fame.”


The unbelievable list of 23 players nominated to fill the remaining six places are: Tony Adams, David Beckham, Dennis Bergkamp, Sol Campbell, Andy Cole, Eric Cantona, Ashley Cole, Didier Drogba, Les Ferdinand, Rio Ferdinand, Robbie Fowler, Steven Gerrard, Roy Keane, Frank Lampard, Matt Le Tissier, Michael Owen, Peter Schmeichel, Paul Scholes, John Terry, Robin van Persie, Nemanja Vidic, Patrick Vieira and Ian Wright.


WATCH: Didier Drogba's greatest moments at Chelsea


Unbelievably, the Premier League’s most decorated player – former Manchester United winger Ryan Giggs – is not among them. The former Welsh international and coach won a record 13 Premier League titles with the Red Devils in 632 appearances.


Giggs was originally slated to be among the first inductees, but an ongoing court case (he remains innocent as he has not been proven guilty) led to his being replaced by Thierry Henry.

When the 23-name shortlist was announced, Giggs was also conspicuously left out.


Football fans can cast their votes here, or via the official Premier League app. Voting will remain open until Sunday May 9, and the remaining six inductees will be announced by May 20.




By signing up, you agree to our Privacy Policy and European users agree to the data transfer policy.